The Regional Coordination Group on SDG4-Education 2030 in West and Central Africa (RCG4-WCA)


cloud EN


The heart of SDG4-Education 2030 lies at the national level, therefore governments have the primary responsibility for implementation, follow-up and review of the Education 2030 Agenda. At the same time, regional and sub-regional collective efforts are critical to the successful adaptation and implementation of Education 2030 at the national and regional levels, calling for effective coordination mechanisms and partnerships and building on existing partnerships, frameworks, and strategies.

In particular, the African Union has concurrently developed and adopted two strategic plans which capture the development and education aspirations of the African people:

It is in this context that the Regional Coordination Group on SDG4-Education 2030 in West and Central Africa (RCG4-WCA) was founded in May 2016. Under the guidance of the Regional United Nations Development Group (RUNDG), it aims to strengthen synergy between the actors who support the implementation of the Education 2030 Agenda in the West and Central African region, taking into consideration their unique development contexts and aspirations. To this end the RCG4-WCA also strives to incorporate the tenets of the AU frameworks into its work toward the achievement of the SDG4 targets.


The RCG4-WCA covers 24 countries:


Benin Guinea-Bissau
Burkina Faso Equatorial Guinea
Cabo Verde Liberia
Cameroon Mali
Central African Republic Mauritania
Chad Niger
Côte d’Ivoire Nigeria
Democratic Republic of Congo Republic of Congo
Gabon Sao Tome and Principe
Gambia Senegal
Ghana Sierra Leone
Guinea Togo
africa map1